Inflation – Affecting the Tooth Fairy, too

Rena lost her second tooth yesterday at pre-school.  It’s been loose for a while, so I saw it coming.

Let me backtrack a little bit.

She lost her first tooth a while back, and I gave her $5, which was a lot to me, but I was seeing other kids receiving up to $20 because “that’s the going rate for a front tooth.”

Really?  Shouldn’t we, as parents, determine the going rate for our own kids?

Allow me to backtrack even further.  When I was a kid, I remember getting a dollar or two, and sometimes, even in quarters.  I’m only 26.

After the first tooth, she wanted to take her new-found fortune and get donuts.  Turns out, $5 won’t even feed a 5-year-old at the donut shop.  So I ended up buying her donuts and let her use hers on something else.

startedwithaten

So last night, all I had on me was a $10 and I was too lazy to go break it, so I went ahead and gave it to her, which allowed her to get her donuts this morning, and now she has a couple bucks left over to go play games with, or get candy with.

nowweatthebottom

Obviously, she doesn’t care.  It’s all “dollars” to her anyway, but that’s just crazy to me.  Am I alone on that?

Funny story about the first tooth she lost.

The tooth was in a little baggy, and I kept it in a box where I keep all of the pictures she colors at school and things like that.  Well, the box wasn’t hidden, but I assumed that she wouldn’t go through my stuff.  I should’ve known better.  She did, found the tooth, and then began questioning the existence of our beloved tooth fairy.  I recovered pretty nicely and let her know that the tooth fairy let me keep it, because it was special since it was her first tooth she lost.

Needless to say, this tooth is way out of reach.

3 thoughts on “Inflation – Affecting the Tooth Fairy, too

  1. claudiabette says:

    I was a little shocked when I found out the going rate was $20 for teeth. So I did something different. When The Boy lost a tooth, I would put goodies under his pillow and a small amount of money. Usually it was a Hotwheel car. He liked that better than money.

    Makes me think, he hasn’t lost a tooth in a while and I know they all didn’t come out yet…I better get my Hotwheels ready 😛

Leave a Reply

