Let’s get caught up

It would appear that a little catching-up is in order.

First things first – I got married. Yeah, that’s right – I married my best friend on March 7, 2015 (in Nikes, no less).

wedding pic2

We had the most beautiful, coolest wedding I’ve ever seen. The wedding party all wore Nike Dunks, we had a food truck cater, and the decor was perfect. I know it’s cliche, but it was all a blur. From setting up, to getting ready, to walking down the aisle, all of it, but it was undoubtedly the best day of my life. My main thought was to not mess up or cry when saying ‘I do,’ but of course, I did. I cried a bunch and jumped the gun and said ‘I do’ before it was my turn. Nobody seemed to notice, but I still laugh about it. Everything went perfectly at the wedding. We were having so much fun that we forgot to do the garter toss and we nearly forgot to cut and eat the cake!

wedding pic1

The following day we immediately took off on our honeymoon – 3 days/nights in Paris and 3 days/nights in London. I’ll probably go over this more in-depth in a later post, but the TL;DR version would be: our flight from Houston to Miami (we were scheduled to leave from Houston to Miami, and from Miami to Paris) ended up getting cancelled. We ended up flying to Dallas to catch a connecting flight to Philadelphia, where we would then head to Paris from, but our flight to Philly ended up cancelled and we stayed in Dallas for the first night of our honeymoon. We finally made it to Paris, but our luggage couldn’t be found. It ended up causing some stress, and we had to buy some clothes (shopping in Paris? I know right?), but it definitely made for a fun twist to our story. The rest of the honeymoon, especially the 3 days we spent in London, was absolutely amazing.

London Eye1

Eiffel Tower Gages

The trip was obviously amazing. We were both overwhelmed with emotions by the whole experience. I never thought I would get to visit either city, much less both in one trip! We were more rushed than we would’ve liked, but we got to see pretty much all of the main, touristy places that we wanted to, and we even watched my favorite soccer team, Arsenal, play at a local pub!

GOONERS

The biggest takeaway from the trip was our appetite for adventure together. This was our first real trip that we had taken and it put us in a foreign country with a foreign language (we remembered the basics of French) without luggage, but we survived and thrived. Tackling the unknown with my wife is probably my favorite thing in the world. This trip sparked a new lifestyle of exploration and adventuring for us and our family.

PARIS 1

Since that life-changing trip, we’ve gone on a cruise to Mexico, hiked Enchanted Rock, hiked/camped at a few Texas State Parks, spent a week in Colorado, a weekend in Austin and explored Dallas in a 24-hour scavenger hunt. Each of them a different experience than the last and we’ve enjoyed them thoroughly, but most importantly, together.

PicCollage1

Married life has been much better than I expected. Of course it’s been challenging, but it’s been so much more rewarding. We’ve been through the ‘honeymoon phase’, the falling out of it, and the return to it. We’ve learned more intimately how each other tick and how we can best compliment each other, and it’s been absolutely fantastic. One year down, forever to go.

WEDDING PIC 3

2 thoughts on “Let’s get caught up

    • twelvegage12 says:

      Thanks! I think I’m finally settled enough that I can make time for it again. I’ll find my groove again soon!

Leave a Reply

